The SWSIS program was founded in 2011 by Applied Computer Security Associates (ACSA), a non-profit Maryland corporation. Our goal is to help address the shortage of professionals in the information security field, and especially the shortage of women in the field, by providing scholarships to women at formative stages of their careers.

Funding for SWSIS is from ACSA’s reserves and a generous donation from the Hewlett-Packard Company.

The CRA Committee on the Status of Women in Computing Research (CRA-W) selects scholarship winners in consultation with a committee of ACSA board members. Members of the CRA-W SWSIS Evaluation Committee are:

  • Diana Burley, George Washington University
  • Rachel Greenstadt, Drexel University
  • Tadayoshi Kohno, University of Washington
  • Zachary Peterson, Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo
  • Ambareen Siraj, Tennessee Technological University
  • Bhavani Thuraisingham, University of Texas at Dallas
  • Rebecca Wright (chair), Rutgers University
  • Advertisement

    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

    WordPress.com Logo

    You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

    Connecting to %s